2018-07-08 / Sports

STC spring athletes honored

ST. CHARLES - Several students were recognized for success in spring sports during St. Charles Community Schools’ last regular board of education meeting on Wednesday, June 20.

From state championships to academic all-state awards, the following students were honored by the board:

The varsity baseball team was recognized for earning the district championship. The coach is Roger Henninger, with team members Devon Barron, Blake Berent, Jackson Diffin, Austin Hammond, Kaleb Himler, Cole Johnson, Austin Kelly, Cody Kostick, Alec McConnel, Michael Menzel, Haden Nothelfer, Alex Pease, Michael Pratt, Brett Schultz, and Blake Trevillian. Individual honors for second team all-conference went to Michael Pratt and Austin Hammond.

St. Charles varsity softball was honored for earning academic all-state under coach Mandy Volk, with team members Macey Burk, Kelsea Coty, Macy Docken, Grace Douglas, Allison Duranso, Shelby Grunas, Mackenzie Hilden, Hannah Kushion, Sydney Miller, Kendall Pahl, Payton Parrish, Allison Pries, and Peyton Volk. Individual honors for academic all-state went to Kelsea Coty, Shelby Grunas, Mackenzie Hilden, and Kendall Pahl.

The St. Charles varsity golf team also received recognition from the board on June 20 for earning TVC champions and state qualifiers. Coach is Mike Nesbit and team members are Matthew Benson, Mitch Benson, Domanic Franzel, Alex Jastrzembowski, Luke Martell, and Noah Reinke. Individual honors for first team all-conference went to Matthew Benson and Mitch Benson and second team all-conference Domanic Franzel and Alex Jastrzembowski.

In St. Charles varsity boys track individual honors were given to state qualifiers Joseph Gonzales and Rhys Wazny.

In St. Charles varsity girls track, the board recognized its achievements for the TVC championship, placing second in regionals and the state title. The team is led by coach Andre Williams. Team members are Peyton Czymbor, Erica Garcia, Nijiyah Holden, Hope Kushion, Celine Whiren, and Mikayla Williams. Individual recognition went to Peyton Czymbor for second team all-conference; and first team all-conference, first team all-region, first team all-state and overall state champs Erica Garcia, Nijiyah Holden, Hope Kushion, Celine Whiren, and Mikayla Williams.

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 Tri-County Citizen, All Rights Reserved

Click here for digital edition
2018-07-08 digital edition